beautiful dreamer

IMG_7664.jpg

The other day I got the DIY itch and headed to the craft store to get inspired. Dream Catchers just stuck in my head, so I decided to have a go at one. Usually before I try something new I will google tutorials to get an idea of what I am getting myself into, but there really were not many detailed or helpful tutorials for dream catchers. And I thought to myself, what kind of person would I be if I didn’t fix that problem? 

First a little background on dream catchers: Dream catchers originated with the Ojibwe people and slowly, through marriage, spread through other nations over time. As the stories goes, there was a Spider Woman that watched over all of the children, but as the people spread farther away, she could not longer take care of all the children. Soon the mothers and grandmothers started making dream catchers that would catch all the bad dreams and never allow them to reach the children. Children would have only good dreams and the bad dreams would vanish in the morning. I think it is an amazingly sweet and happy story.

IMG_7578

Here’s what you’ll need:

8′ of twine
Metal ring
Super Glue
7′ of wax cotton thread
Assorted beads, feathers, and ribbon

Step 1: Wrapping the hoop

IMG_7579

The first step is to wrap the hoop with twine. Begin by putting a dab of super glue (quick drying) on the hoop and giving it a moment to dry. Once it is dry you will have a foundation to begin wrapping. Once you get the hang of this, it will go pretty fast. Every several wraps, push what you’ve done so far together, so you can’t see the hoop underneath the twine.

IMG_7584

When you (finally) get to the end, you can either end the twine with a bit of super glue OR you can make a loop with the excess twine. This way you will have a way to hang your beautiful creation at the end.

Step 2: Making the web

IMG_7586

Begin by tying the end of the thread at the top of the hoop. I usually go ahead and string my beads at this point because it is easier than trying to do it in the middle of stringing the web. Use a dab of super glue on the knot, so that there isn’t a risk of it coming untied.

IMG_7599

Wrap the thread all the way around the loop until you come back to the top. Make sure each of the wraps are evenly spaced around the loop because this will be the base of your pattern.

IMG_7600

Continue making your way around the circle looping the thread through the bottom of each triangle. It is important that the thread you choose is heavy duty because you will be pulling it taut along the way.

IMG_7604

Drop the beads in wherever your crafty heart desires. If you went ahead and threaded them before you began, you’ll be thanking yourself right now. If you didn’t…well, you’ll be getting creative.

IMG_7606

You can choose how small you want the inner circle to be. If you leave it larger, you can even add a feather or something in the middle. You can also continue until the circle is almost closed. Whenever you decide you’re done, you’ll want to tie the end of the string off and use a dab of super glue to secure it.

Step 3: Embellish

IMG_7623

This is the fun part! You can decorate your catcher in whatever way you desire.

IMG_7657

Since we live by the sea, I added shells into mine. I also love a little sparkle, so I added crystal beads. Feathers are a very traditional way to go and also add the light movement that I associate with dream catchers.

IMG_7668

I added a feather to the web of the last one I made and I wrapped the hoop with lace ribbon.

The sky is the limit with the way you can decorate your dream catcher – you’ll never make the same one twice, which is what is so great about this project. Be creative and let your dream catcher reflect all of your favorite things. This would be a fantastic project for kids and teens. If I did it with kids I would probably pre-wrap the loops and just let them decorate.

IMG_7647

There you have it! I hope you enjoy your dream catcher and it serves you well to keep the bad dreams away!

Leave a Reply

