easy pumpkin spice muffins

pumpkinspice

I have to admit, this recipe is in no way my idea. It has been floating around the interwebs for quite some time now, but I was astonished by how many people haven’t actually tried it! It is so easy it should be illegal and it’s healthy, to boot!

Image

All you need:

bowl
whisk
muffin tin
muffin tin liners*
can of pumpkin
a box of spice cake mix

*if you’re lazy and don’t want to wash a pan, like me.

Step 1: Open and combine.

Image

1. Open the spice mix, dump it in the bowl.
2. Open the can of pumpkin, dump it in the bowl.
3. Combine.

That’s literally it.

Image

I find that a whisk does the best job. Also, and I speak from experience, use a bigger bowl than you think you’ll need. You’ll thank me in the end. (I totally cleaned off the counter before I took that picture up there…classic amateur bowl-choosing mistake.) I always under estimate the size bowl I need and by the time I realize it, I’m already too far in. Who wants to clean an extra bowl, when you could spend your entire mixing time desperately trying to keep the batter IN the bowl? Not me. This is particularly amusing since, in every other aspect of my life, I tend to over estimate. Dinner serving sizes, number of shoes I’ll need for a weekend getaway, amount of shampoo… quarter sized? Ha.

Moving on…

Step 2: Fill muffin tin.

Image

Yup, that’s it. Simple as that. I know you’ve probably heard it a million times, but an ice cream scoop is really the absolute best way to get the batter from point A to point B. If fact, I don’t know that I’ve ever actually used our ice cream scoop for anything OTHER than filling cupcake/muffin tins. It makes it super easy and it ensures that each muffin is the same size…which ensures even baking…yada, yada.

Trust me, use an ice cream scoop.

Step 3: Bake and enjoy!

Image

Bake the muffins per the instructions on the box. That’s what is so great about this recipe, it takes an already easy cake and makes it even easier. And the result is delicious!

Image

Because of the pumpkin, the muffin is moist and not too sweet. I think it makes for a perfect quick breakfast or a nice snack. These don’t last any time at all in our house. I made a dozen yesterday and they’re all gone. So, what are you waiting for? Go grab a box of spice mix and get to it!

Enjoy!

EASY PUMPKIN SPICE MUFFINS

1 box of spice cake mix
1 15oz can of pumpkin

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, combine spice mix and pumpkin. Mix until completely incorporated. Divide evenly in muffin tin and bake for 20 minutes. Let cool before you dig in! Enjoy!

One thought on “easy pumpkin spice muffins

Leave a Reply

