homemade snickers

snickers2

LIVING THE SNICKERS DREAM

The other day I was browsing (ie. wasting time) on facebook and I saw this post for making homemade snickers. Now, I love snickers, more than most people probably, something about that combination of chocolate, peanuts, and caramel just makes everything right with the world. I got pretty excited about this recipe and reposted it, so I could give it a go on my next day off.

Fast forward a week and I finally have my free day! I took a look at the recipe and, aside from a helpful-ish illustration, it was not very useful. The instructions were lacking and the ingredients were questionable at best. But it did give me the inspiration I needed, so there’s that, I guess. So I started scrounging around the web for a more informative recipe and ended up taking what I thought were the best parts of several recipes. There are a few things I would have done differently with this recipe, and I’ll point this out as we go, but on the whole it worked out really well for the first crack at it. Since there aren’t really a ton of ingredients, I suggest springing for top quality stuff. While I’m usually not a fan of traditional Peanut Butter, I didn’t go natural on this one because I needed the sweetness of the regular stuff.

Here are the key players in this sweet cast:

Image  Milk Chocolate, Peanut Butter, Caramels, Evaporated Milk,
Marshmallow Fluff, Butter, Peanuts, Vanilla Extract

Step 1: Bottom Chocolate/Peanut Butter Layer

To start, go ahead and clear a space in your fridge for a 9X13inch dish. If you’re like me, space is at a premium in the fridge and this will save you trying to do it with a dish of molten chocolate in your hand. Next, line a 9X13inch dish with cling wrap and then spray it generously with non-stick spray. I figured this recipe could easily turn into a sticky mess if I let it, so I took all the precautions I could. Let the cling wrap hang over the sides, so you will have some handles to get the slab-o-snickers free at the end. Image This recipe is all about layering and being patient. The first layer is the melted mixture of peanut butter and chocolate. Every recipe that I looked at for snickers had PB added to the chocolate. I was skeptical, but, having tasted the final product, I’m a believer. Behold, a match made in heaven: Image Once you have poured the melted chocolate/PB mixture into the dish, spread the layer out to cover the entire bottom of the dish. Then put it in refrigerator to set. Image This step is wicked important for each layer, and this is where the patience comes in, to avoid the nougat and chocolate layer combining, the chocolate needs to be set and cold. This step is so important, that I even took a picture of the inside of my refrigerator to reiterate how important it is… Image

Step 2: Nougat Layer

Moving on to the most “complicated” layer, and it isn’t that difficult, I promise. You’ll start with a sauce pan over medium heat, add the butter and let it melt. Once it has melted, add the sugar and evaporated milk, stir until melted. *Now, this was a personal choice, but I let it cook for a few minutes, so I would become a light brown and slightly caramelized. As a result, the nougat was a little firmer than I would have liked in the end. I would suggest just stirring until the sugar dissolves and moving on to the next step.* Image Next add the marshmallow fluff (stick mess that it is), peanut butter, and vanilla extract. Once these are incorporated, take it off the heat and fold in the peanuts. I used whole/halved peanuts and didn’t chop them any further than that. I had to keep reminding myself this was the temperature of lava, but I wanted to eat it ALL. Image You’ll want to grab the chocolate layer from the fridge and pour the nougat layer over the top and gentle spread it out. Work fast because you don’t want the nougat to cool or the chocolate to melt too much. Image

Step 3: Caramel Layer

This next part is my favorite. The fact that I had enough caramel to even make this layer is a miracle. As soon as I opened the bag I started in on them, luckily I’m a realist, so I bought two bags of caramels. Once I had satiated my need for caramels, I added what was left to a sauce pan over medium heat with some whipping cream. It is important to not rush this step, let it slowly melt. If it gets too hot, too fast the caramel will become hard instead of the creamy chewy we are after. Image Take the dish out of the fridge and pour the caramel over the nougat. Again, work fast and gentle. The caramel will get more difficult to spread as it cools down. After it is evenly spread out, return the dish to the fridge to set. Image

Step 4: Last Chocolate/Peanut Butter Layer

The last chocolate layer is the same as the first. I did some dishes before I melted the last layer. Because the other layers took longer to prep I didn’t need the extra time between them, but since it only takes a minute or two to melt the chocolate and peanut butter, I needed to waste a little time so the caramel could set. Melt the chocolate and peanut butter and pour it over the cooled and set caramel. Image On the last layer, I used to spatula to try and replicate the wave on the top of traditional snickers bars. It was pretty easy, I just touched the top of the melted chocolate and pulled it over to create that wave affect. You could do whatever design you want, of course, I was just trying to be a copy cat. Image The most difficult part of this candy making expedition was waiting for the bars to set over night. You would probably get away with only waiting an hour or two, but I didn’t want to take chances and it was already 9pm. Besides, who doesn’t want snickers for breakfast? Image The cling wrap over hang made it super easy to get the slab out of the dish and made for a really simple clean up. I cut the bars and then put them in the freezer, so they’d be pretty cold, and I could handle them long enough to wrap them. Image They are DELICIOUS. Like, seriously, be still my sweet little heart. They taste like snickers, but better. How is that even possible???

Image

Guess you’ll have to make some and try them for yourself! Happy Monday!

HOMEMADE SNICKERS BAR RECIPE:

First layer: chocolate and peanut butter

1.5 cups chocolate chips (I suggest milk, but you could use any type)
1/4 cup creamy peanut butter

Cover the dish with cling wrap, with over hang for the handles. You can melt the chocolate and peanut butter in a sauce pan or in the microwave. I tend to opt for the microwave. Pour the mixture into the dish and spread to cover the bottom. Put in the fridge to set.

Second layer: nougat layer

1/4 cup butter (salted or unsalted will both work)
1 cup sugar 1/4 cup evaporated milk
1.5 cups marshmallow fluff
1/4 cup creamy peanut butter (in a pinch you could use the crunchy stuff and forgo the chopped peanuts)
1.5 cups salted peanuts, chopped
1 tsp vanilla extract

Start by adding the butter to a sauce pan over medium heat and melting. Add sugar and evaporated milk and stir until dissolved. Stir in the marshmallow fluff, peanut butter, and vanilla, until smooth. Fold in the peanuts and pour over the chocolate layer. Return to fridge to set.

Third layer: caramel layer

16 oz of caramels
1/4 cup heavy cream

Add to a sauce pan over medium heat. Melt while stirring occasionally. Pour over the nougat layer and then return it to the fridge to set again.

Last layer: chocolate and peanut butter

1.5 cups chocolate chips
1/4 cup creamy peanut butter

Again, you can melt the chocolate and peanut butter in a sauce pan or in the microwave. I tend to opt for the microwave. Pour the mixture on top of the caramel layer and use a spatula to make the snickers waves on top. Let this set in the refrigerator for at least a couple of hours, if not over night. Cut and ENJOY!

One thought on “homemade snickers

Leave a Reply

