where’s the campfire?

It is far to hot in Florida for a campfire – already. It seems like it is going to be a hot summer! That doesn’t mean we can’t enjoy that s’mores taste without the fire. At least a hot kitchen can be air conditioned.

IMG_6193

s’mores without the fire

I’ve always wanted to try a s’mores cupcake, the chocolate, marshmallow and graham crackers lend themselves well to a delicious cupcake. I decided to go with a cake that isn’t so sweet because I knew the added icing and marshmallow filling would bring all the sweetness needed to this recipe.

IMG_6147

very sugary!

First, mix the sugar, brown sugar and oil until smooth.

IMG_6150

slowly add the dry ingredients

I sift the dry ingredients together to start. Then combine with the wet ingredients.

IMG_6151

go to town on these bad boys and make them very fine crumbs

Next, it is time to take out any aggression you’ve had lately on a bag of graham crackers. I used the plain ones with no sugar/cinnamon on them. Mainly because there is so much sweet already in this recipe, also, because that’s what I had in the pantry.

good start for any cupcake, I think

good start for any cupcake, I think

Part of the crushed graham crackers go into the bottom of the cupcake liners. I ended up using about a tbsp for each, but you mainly need enough to cover the bottom. Next time, I think I might mix the crumbs with a little butter, so they don’t fall off the bottom so easily, it was a little messy.

love my ice cream scoop and we rarely eat ice cream here

love my ice cream scoop and we rarely eat ice cream here

Next, I put the batter in the liners with my trusty ice cream scoop and put them in the oven.

marshmallow fluff + cream cheese = heavenly

marshmallow fluff + cream cheese = heavenly

After a quick clean up of the kitchen, I was really messy this time for some reason, I started on the marshmallow filling for the cupcakes. I keep thinking to myself that I need to get a second mixing bowl for the mixer… but then I’d have to clean TWO bowls instead of one …but I could continue cooking without washing bowls. I suppose this would be considered a first world baking problem. Regardless, the filling was just a cup on marshmallow fluff and a package of cream cheese. DISCLAIMER: Just use about half the marshmallow fluff container, it will save you a BIG mess in your measuring cup.

all kitchen utensils have multiple uses!

all kitchen utensils have multiple uses!

Once the cupcakes are out and cool-ish, I kind of rushed this process, I started getting the centers out for the filling. Now, in full disclosure here, I started by using a knife and then about 3 in I remembered I have a fruit corer that I have literally never used before. So, after digging that out of back of my utensil drawer, this process went so much faster. And you get to taste the cake that you pull out. Win-win.

piping bag made it so easy!

piping bag made it so easy!

Another admission here, I tried to fill the centers with a spoon before I realized a piping bag would work better. If you don’t have a piping bag/nozzle, just cut the end off of a plastic bag. This doesn’t have to be exact, as long as it makes it in the center, mostly, and you will save yourself A LOT of time by doing this. It will also keep crumbs out of your filling.

After this, I made the icing. Which I conveniently forgot to take a picture of while I was doing it… Luckily it is just the basic cream cheese icing I always use, plus the rest of the graham crackers I had crushed up earlier. Make sure you make fine crumbs for the icing, so it isn’t lumpy in the end.

Mmmm s'mores!

Mmmm s’mores!

Used mini chocolate chips and marshmallows to garnish. I kind of wish I could have used the mini-mini marshmallows too, but, short of separating them out of the hot chocolate packets, I couldn’t, so I settled for the larger-mini ones instead.

look at that delicious filling

look at that delicious filling

And there you have it, S’mores cupcakes. I will admit that there are a lot of steps to this cupcake, but it is TOTALLY worth it! I promise.

now I want another cupcake...

now I want another cupcake…

Spoiler Alert: they are delicious!

RECIPES:

Chocolate Cake Recipe:
1 3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 cup sour cream
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 eggs
2 cups flour
1 cup cocoa
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup water
1 package of Graham cracker, crushed (fine crumbs)

Preheat oven to 360 degrees and line cupcake pans with liners. This recipe makes slightly less than 24. Mix sugar, brown sugar and oil until smooth. Add sour cream and vanilla extract, mix to incorporate. Add eggs one at a time and mix only until incorporated. In a separate bowl, sift together flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add dry ingredients and water to wet mixture alternating between the two. Smash up the graham crackers and spoon about 1 tbsp of graham cracker crumbs into the bottom of each cupcake liner. Shake pan to spread evenly. Fill liners 3/4 full and bake for 18-22 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Marshmallow Filling:
4 oz cream cheese
1/2 cup of marshmallow fluff
1 1/2 – 2 cups of powdered sugar

Beat the cream cheese and marshmallow fluff together, then add in powdered sugar at a low speed. You can add more of less powdered sugar for taste and consistency.

Graham Cracker Icing:
8oz cream cheese, room temperature
1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
4 tbsp whole milk (I usually leave this out for a thicker icing, so it would not run)
4 cups powdered sugar, sifted
1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs (more or less for desired taste/appearance)

In a blender, cream together cream cheese and butter. (If you want to add in the whole milk, do it here.) Add in sifted powdered sugar 1 cup at a time. On a low speed, add in graham cracker crumbs.

Leave a Reply

