book club

Last night a lovely group of excited ladies descended upon our house for book club. In my usual over-the-top fashion, I went all out for the evening. I felt like I needed to make it worth the drive for them since they all had to pile in a car and come all the way out to the beach. So far. I’m so mean.

the book was an obvious choice for the center piece

the book was an obvious choice for the center piece

We read The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom – which, incidentally, was the first book that I successfully finished before the book club meeting. Go me! If you click the link to the book synopsis the theme choices will make more sense. (I think?)

I'm so glad we decided on this large table for the dining room.

I’m so glad we decided on this large table for the dining room.

I sort of latched onto nature (bird’s nests and botany, specifically) and the color green as loose inspirations for the decor. Luckily our design esthetic in our house is already nature-y and natural, so I could pull a lot from what we already had for the table decorations.

I'm a little obsessed with blue right now...

I’m a little obsessed with blue right now…

I already had the cork placemats (that I’m COMPLETELY in love with) from Thanksgiving. I bought the green napkins from Pier 1 Imports to bring in the green color and I’m a big fan of cloth napkins for dinners. It makes in me feel classy. You are clearly at a grown up dinner party if there are cloth napkins. (in case the booze wasn’t enough of an indication)

love the opportunity for the silver to come out

love the opportunity for the silver to come out

I love mixing and matching plates for settings, which is good because I only have 6 place settings of both of the plate sets. I also bring the silver out at any chance that I get because, well, why not. Interesting fact from last night, I put out the glasses for water and/or other dinner beverages, but the wine glasses were the only things I had to wash at the end of the night. This is a very good sign for a stellar book club. Win.

strawberry jam, win

strawberry jam, win

Remember that post about jam? Well, we have a suplus of jam, so what better way to give out jam than to make it a place card/favor?! I think it was an innovative place card choice, if I may say so myself. Added bonus, it brings in a nice pop of color to the table. I even dressed it up with a cute little green hat with a ribbon.

fun fact: the tea started as virgin, it did not remain as such

fun fact: the tea started as virgin, it did not remain as such

Now the important stuff, FOOD. Okay… tea isn’t really food, but with a southern food theme, if may as well be. And boy was it sweet, my grandmother would have been proud. I found the dispenser at Pier 1 Imports when I went to get the napkins. Oops. At least it was on sale. Which is good, because it was totally begging to come home with me and I was powerless. I was also powerless when it came to buying the pedestal that it is sitting on. PSA: Before filling one of these to the brim with liquid, make sure the spout is screwed on reallllly tight. I would show you a picture of the aftermath of that mistake, but I was too busy putting tea in every available container to keep it from spilling onto the counter. Lesson learned. Don’t make my same mistakes people.

best appetizers EVER.

best appetizers EVER.

What southern food theme is complete without pimento cheese and pepper jelly with cream cheese? None. That’s how many. Here is where this entry gets less picture-y…I got distracted by the food… Here is list: Fried Chicken, Corn Pudding, Deviled Egg Dip, Collard Greens, Mac and Cheese, Pecan Pie, various other desserts… now do you see why I didn’t have my camera in my hands? I was too busy stuffing my face.

full view of the table

full view of the table

Overall, the meeting was a big hit. The wine (and bourbon) flowed and we actually talked about the book for about 15 minutes. If there is a theme I was totally equipped to handle, it was a southern theme. Glad it was a hit and I will leave you with this picture of Zoey reading a book:

Heather said: Zoey thought the book lacked focus, but the food was great!

Heather said: Zoey thought the book lacked focus, but the food was great!

Leave a Reply

